Another day, another incident of the transgender toilet question.

I’m actually really starting to wonder what’s going on. I remember a few years back, transgender people seemed very rare, and the issues they faced were rarely discussed in the media. However in the last 2 years or so, it seems as if the media is full of stories about them. Where did they all come from all of a sudden? And what happened to the stigma they faced? I remember a time when people used to laugh at them, joke about them, and stare at them as if they were freaks. This really wasn’t long ago at all. I’m glad that doesn’t go on anymore of course. I am very much against bullying and I don’t believe they deserved to be treated that way. I’m just really confused as to how such a dramatic change occurred in people’s attitudes so quickly. It seems as if people went straight from a discriminatory attitude to one of putting them on a pedestal as being brave and heroic, while skipping more neutral attitudes such as simply being tolerant of them altogether. I’d really like to understand why this change in attitude happened so quickly.

Nowadays, transgender people are practically looked up to as if they’re heroes. As little as 5 years ago, this was completely different.

Anyway, that’s a different topic for a different day. I really want to discuss a particular story. Now, in case I haven’t made it obvious already from my previous posts, my attitude hasn’t changed as quickly as that of my peers. I’d put myself in a neutral category of being tolerant. I just haven’t been presented yet with convincing scientific evidence that a biological female who feels like a male, is a male, or vice versa. I’m not implying that their feelings aren’t real, or that they’re making it up. I’m simply stating a person’s sex is an objective physical reality, and even if their gender is just a social construct as we’re always told, I believe that terms like male/female, man/woman, boy/girl, he/she, him/her etc are in reference to sex not gender, because these terms existed when the two were one and the same. Therefore, I believe mother nature is what determines your male/female status, not your feelings. I’m not saying a male has no right to wear a dress, play with Barbie dolls, change his name to a female one,  or do any other stereotypical female things. I’m just saying it doesn’t make him female. He’s just an effeminate male.

The story I want to discuss is from the Huffington Post (another Marxist propaganda outlet on par with the Guardian in terms of how blatant it is). The author is a biological female teen who identifies as male, who refers to herself as Casey Hoke. By the way, unlike previous times, when I decided to use gender neutral pronouns out of respect, the tone of this story rubbed me the wrong way, so I won’t be granting “Casey” that same respect. I’ll be using female pronouns to describe her as I feel that in doing so, I’m being no more disrespectful towards her than she is towards society.

Casey Hoke: The arrogant person who thinks her feelings are more important than those of everyone else.

Huffington Post

I’m a Transgender Teen and which Restroom I use Is None of Your Business

Well, right away the aggression is coming out. How can you possibly engage with some with such an obnoxious and arrogant attitude like this?

Out of the seven-hour school day in my Louisville, Kentucky high school, I spend an average of two minutes in the restroom. That’s it. Business as usual. No one bats an eye.

Just an hour away in Frankfort, Kentucky, my business and the business of every other transgender student attending a public school in Kentucky is not as usual. In fact, it’s under scrutiny by a drafted bill in the Kentucky Legislature titled the Kentucky Student Privacy Act.

Oh…go on.

The Kentucky Student Privacy Act, as proposed by Kentucky State Sen. C.B. Embry, would deny access to restrooms, locker rooms and other gender-specific spaces to students who do not identify with the gender assigned to them at birth.

I hate this idiotic logic of being assigned a gender at birth. You have a distinct SEX at birth based on biological processes. Unless you were born as a hermaphrodite and doctors/your parents chose to recognise one set of organs over another, you weren’t assigned anything.

An example of when assigning one gender or another might technically be true.

The act also suggests “compromises” with transgender students who fit these circumstances. In this case, the transgender student would have to use a unisex facility, which many schools do not have, or use the faculty restrooms

In the cases were the schools do have unisex facilities, this seems perfectly reasonable to me. All students (transgender or otherwise) are given the option of using the unisex facilities or specific ones that apply to their sex. How is this a bad thing?

To give a student perspective on this situation: The only private restroom space in my own school building is set away from general classroom areas and separated by two floors from most of my classes. The two minutes I take out of changing classes or instructional time for going about my business would turn into a longer period, taking a chunk out of my academic and social time.

Then just use a nearer female specific toilet which matches your biology then.

And along with that — it would create embarrassment and less affirmation for my gender. While assigned female at birth, I identify as male, express this identity and go along with my day as any other guy. The prospect of having to go out of the way to take special action due to private anatomy (hence the word “private”) is segregation.

Except for the fact that you’re not a guy as I’ve already explained. Feel free to dress like one, have guy interests etc, but it doesn’t change the objective physical reality of your sex.

The Kentucky Student Privacy Act creates another problem, even a witch-hunt of sorts. The bill states in Section 3, #4 (a): A student encountering a person of the opposite biological sex shall have a private cause of action against the school if school personnel:

1. Gave the person encountered permission to use facilities of the opposite biological sex; or
2. Failed to take reasonable steps to prohibit the person encountered from using facilities designated for use by the opposite biological sex.

A witch hunt? How melodramatic. A witch hunt usually refers to accusations of wrongdoing without any evidence. Essentially being guilty until proven innocent, something which isn’t suggested here. Of course, this is all about using emotion based arguments to make a point rather than cold hard logic (the kryptonite of the feelings brigade).

Along with these stipulations, the student who encountered the transgender individual could take their case to a local circuit court and receive $2500 of so-called “compensation” from the school “for all psychological, emotional and physical harm suffered” (Section 2, #3 [b]) as quoted in Sen. Embry’s bill.

I don’t agree with this part. I hate compensation culture myself as it’s open to abuse. So hooray Casey, we do at least have some common ground.

Now, when I and many other out transgender individuals use the restroom, we are there to take care of our business wherever we deem comfortable for our identities and expression. We’re just like everyone else. And to be honest, I want to be out of the restroom as soon as I can to continue my school day and to avoid any problems with the few transphobic individuals in school who may know my history and ask intrusive questions. (Unfortunately, that has happened.)

Yeah I’m sure dealing with transphobia sucks and all, but do you ever wonder why people have these feelings? Because I sure do. Now this is not scientific, so I’ll admit I can’t prove that it’s true, but I think it’s based on the idea of the uncanny valley. People underestimate the strength of our instincts on our behaviour. I believe that when a person sees a transgender person, their instincts tell them that something is slightly “off” and despite all of our cultural knowledge and education, this instinct makes people uncomfortable. It’s not something they can control. Of course as I said, this is just a theory.

As long as private stalls are available, absolutely no one should suffer from “harm” in the presence of a transgender person unless the person creates a threatening or harmful situation for the other people in the facility. That’s bullying, and can come from anyone of any identity. As well as this, one would have to take some pretty inappropriate measures in order to figure out if the person using the restroom is in fact transgender. That’s that.

Nope, couldn’t tell this was a transgender at all. If I hadn’t taken the inappropriate action of looking at the bulge in his pants, I’d have had no clue whatsoever.

But why was the compensational aspect introduced? That’s where the witch-hunt analogy is brought into play. Misinformed and/or transphobic students who encounter a person who they have heard is transgender could easily cook up a plot for receiving their “rightful compensation,” as proposed in Sen. Embry’s bill.

Again I’ll reiterate that I too am opposed to this compensation nonsense.

It’s one thing for a school to offer private facilities for students who identify as gender-neutral or are not comfortable using male- or female-designated facilities because of their gender identity — but to force all transgender students to do so is, in fact, a definite breach in privacy for students wishing to remain stealth and affirmed in their identity. So much for an act with the word “privacy” plastered on it.

And what about forcing the non-transgender students to share their toilets/changing rooms with transgender students if they aren’t comfortable with sharing rooms with the opposite sex? Why do their feelings not matter? Why should the small minority get preferences over the majority in a democratic society?

On a positive note, several schools and governments around the nation (and the world, for that matter) have adopted a number of policies to allow transgender students to use the restrooms, locker rooms and even join sports teams that correspond with their gender identities, not their sex assigned at birth.

A positive note in your opinion. You don’t speak for everyone. And there’s that ridiculous “assigned at birth” nonsense again.

And so far, in light of California’s “School Success and Opportunity Act,” affected in January 2014, problems of “embarrassment, shame and psychological injury to students” have yet to be reported with regards to transgender students using these facilities, unlike the outcomes predicted in Sen. Embry’s proposed bill. We have a lot of catching up to do.

Maybe they’re afraid to report it out of fear of being considered bigoted.

Look at this video that suggests otherwise. A blatant propaganda video it may be, but it doesn’t mean the girls and parents in the video weren’t genuinely upset.

Thanks to the marginalization of and lack of education about transgender individuals (as shown by the proposed bill), as well as sensationalized media headlines that loom around transgender topics, it’s tough to feel at ease

It’s only sensationalised when you disagree with it. I’m sure if there was a headline stating “Kentucky lawmakers resemble Nazis in their heinous anti-transgender bathroom laws”, you’d agree with it.

As a transgender teen who has risked losing friends and others close to me, struggled with “passing” and even struggled with the transition to use the facilities in accordance with my identity without worry or question, I want to feel equal to my peers. And I sure don’t wish to have my authenticity judged through government measures.

It sucks that you’ve struggled as I’m sure it has been difficult. At the same time you gotta accept that equality means responsibilities as well as rights. You need to consider the needs of others as well.

Because of this, I wish to continue standing alongside anyone who is or may be subjected to injustice of this kind from their own school systems or government. To lend even more help, Kentucky has many groups that advocate for LGBT+ identified students through educating the public and lobbying for positive government action. These include Fairness Campaign, GLSEN’s Bluegrass chapter and the ACLU of Kentucky. From my own work with GLSEN and the connections I’ve built with these groups, I am assured that these groups will not halt efforts until justice and fair treatment is ensured for all.

So, my statement to Sen. C.B. Embry and to those in support of the proposed bill? The only “declaration of emergency” here is that laws to segregate transgender students are taking precedence over respectful and enumerated policies that would truly keep LGBT+ youth safe and welcome in the school environment. And lastly: How we go about our business is none of yours.

In public areas, it is our business.

Anyway, this article just really rubbed me the wrong way. I really thought that this person had a very arrogant and selfish attitude. She came off as being very hypocritical with her arguments that the toilets/changing rooms she uses shouldn’t be a big deal. The way I see it, if she doesn’t think it’s a big deal which toilet/changing room she uses then she shouldn’t care so much herself which she uses. Obviously it is a big deal for others, so I think their desires are worthy of consideration in this situation.

I get that her life must be difficult. As I’ve said in previous posts, I don’t envy one bit what transgender people are experiencing. At the same time my attitude is that the vast majority of people are perfectly comfortable with our long held societal norms and we shouldn’t have to change them to accommodate a small minority. This isn’t like giving equal rights for gay people or other races because that was simply about giving them the same rights as others (ie. raising them up). It didn’t involve dragging down the rights of the majority, in order to satisfy the minority.

Leave a Reply

